FE/NUOL trains engineers for contribution to the development of Laos. Engineers follow a 4-years training program. Selection of students is based on the results of written national entrance examination. The quota system has been designed for selected students from each province basing on their academic performance. Currently, the Bachelors of Engineering programs in FE/NUOL consist of 16 curricula as the following:

  1. In Civil Engineering Department:
    • Bachelor of Civil Engineering
  2. In Mechanical Engineering Department:
    • Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering
    • Bachelor of Industrial Engineering
  3. In Electrical Engineering Department:
    • Bachelor of Electrical Engineering
    • Bachelor of Hydro-power Energies Engineering
  4. In Electronic and Telecommunication Engineering Department:
    • Bachelor of Electronic Engineering
    • Bachelor of Telecommunication Engineering
  5. In Information Technology & Computer Engineering Department:
    • Bachelor of Information Technology
    • Bachelor of Computer Engineering
  6. In Road-Bridge & Transportation Engineering Department:
    • Bachelor of Road and Bridge Engineering
    • Bachelor of Transportation Engineering
  7. In Water resources Engineering Department:
    • Bachelor of Water Resources Engineering
    • Bachelor of Irrigation and Drainage  Engineering
  8. In Vocational Teacher Education Department:
    • Bachelor of Vocational Teacher Education majoring in engineering field
  9. In Environmental and Hydraulic Engineering Department:
    • Bachelor of environmental Engineering
  10. In Mining Engineering Department:
    • Bachelor of Mining Engineering

The postgraduate courses are being implemented in the following departments:

  1. Master’s program on Infrastructure engineering was initiated in 2002 joint with Chulalongkorn  University, Thailand  (Dept. of Civil Engineering)
  2. Master ‘s program on Environmental engineering and management initiated in 2008 by EU Asia Link Program, and actually supported by DAAD, in cooperation with University of Siegen (Germany), Hanoi Water Resources  University (Vietnam) and Sirindhorn International Institute of Technology  (Thammasad University, Thailand)
  3. Master’s program on Electrical engineering started in 2011 joint with Chulalongkorn University  (Thailand) (Dept. of electrical Engineering)
  4. IT Specialist Course (ITSC) initiated in 2010 supported by Japan international Agency (JICA) (ITSD), In 2012 was upgrded to Master Programe on IT